Spicy Corn Soup

I tried a new recipe last night. It was an adaptation of this recipe from How Sweet it Is. I found it on Pinterest and was intrigued because it had a lot of the same ingredients as a spicy corn salsa that I make sometimes. The original soup recipe called for poblano peppers and sweet corn – both of which I love. Of course, my local Kroger didn’t have poblano peppers, so I substituted Anaheim peppers instead. It was wonderful, but I can’t wait to try it with the poblanos.

You start the soup by roasting the corn and the peppers. If I had one at my apartment, I would’ve fired up the grill and roasted them outside and they would have been delicious. But since I don’t have a grill and I didn’t want to drive across town to my parent’s house, I spray everything with a little olive oil and put them under the broiler. It took about 20 minutes and a few rotations to get everything nice and golden brown. [The peppers didn't take as long as the corn, I took them out earlier to let them start cooling.]

Spicy Corn Soup Picture

Spicy Corn Soup

Ready for the recipe yet?

Spicy Corn Soup

Ingredients:

  • 6 ears sweet corn
  • 2 peppers (poblano or anaheim)
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp light butter
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 cups fat-free chicken stock
  • 2/3 cup fat-free Half & Half
  • Salt & Pepper

Directions:

  • Lightly spray or brush corn and peppers with olive oil. Roast them on the grill or under the broiler for 15-20 minutes. They will be golden and delicious looking. Let them cool, then carefully cut the corn off of the cup. Remove seeds from roasted peppers and chop into small pieces.
  • In a large pot, melt butter and add olive oil. Add diced onion and garlic and cook for about 5 minutes, until soft.
  • Add corn, peppers, chicken stock and 1/3 cup of half & half. Add salt and pepper to taste. Mix everything together and allow it to come to a boil. Let it boil for 5 minutes.
  • Remove from heat and blend using an immersion blender. (I left some texture to mine, but you could blend it until it was all the same consistency.)
  • Return to heat and add the remaining 1/3 cup of half & half. Bring to boil and let it simmer for 10 minutes.
  • Serve immediately.

6 WWP+ for 1 cup; Makes ~4 cups

As you can see my the picture, I topped mine with green onions as well. This looked pretty, but it made the soup taste pretty onion-y (I also used a pretty large onion in the soup.) Depending on how much onion you like, you can top it or eat it as-is.

I added a few additional spices to mine while it was simmering for its last 10 minutes. In addition to salt and pepper, I added some chili powder and red pepper flakes.

My boyfriend added some parmesan cheese to his bowl, which I thought was gross, but he liked it.

Now go, make this for dinner. Do it before all the good corn is gone!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.